Using Chrome

Off topic chatter, old administrative threads, etc.
Post Reply
Tytn
Site Staff
Posts: 479
Joined: 31 Aug 2016, 23:29

Using Chrome

Post by Tytn »

Hiya Folks

One of the differnences between Chrome and Firefox, is when composing messages and logging in.

In Chrome, if you write something in chrome please ensure that you are logged in beforehand, or that before you click preview/submit, you've copied the post to memory (CTRL-C).

If you fail to do this and Chrome then wants you to reconfirm your login credentials, you will lose the post. Firefox does not do this.

I've had a look online and it is known about but Chrome haven't had it fixed. It can be very frustrating, as well as annoying and stressful.

If you're using a Windows computer there is an application called 'clipmate' to enable longer access to what you copy. I use a paid version but I'm sure the shareware version has limitations. Not found one for the Mac yet.

Take care.

Tytn
Support Team

Sam70
Active Member
Posts: 80
Joined: 24 May 2019, 07:44

Re: Using Chrome

Post by Sam70 »

I have logged in. Then typed in something only to discover that somehow I am no longer logged in. Whatever I wrote is gone with the wind. I try to always copy what I have typed before I try to submit it to this site. Sometimes I remember and then sometimes I don't.

Today was one of those days. I typed out a response. Selected submit only to find that somehow I am no longer logged in.

I was logged in for weeks for a while. Then I had to log back in. I've had to log in several times today!

PS: I copied the above before I selected submit. I had just signed back in less than five minutes ago. Had to log back in again!

Thanks Tynn for pointing this out. I will try Firefox and see if that helps!

Tytn
Site Staff
Posts: 479
Joined: 31 Aug 2016, 23:29

Re: Using Chrome

Post by Tytn »

At the moment there is a lot more loading on servers. Not necessarily this site but lots of places, and sometimes the login cookie does not persist. It is annoying when this happens, and has happened to me numerous times before.

I have typed a length response, on mobile, then it's gone and ive been so annoyed I've not tried again, or Ive run out of time to do anything.

Brian
Site Staff
Posts: 1529
Joined: 01 Sep 2016, 10:32
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Using Chrome

Post by Brian »

Yes, the problem has been an issue for a long time and I often get it too.

Saving any lengthy post before pressing "submit" is certainly a good idea. But I can use my back button in Firefox to get what I typed back too: top left of screen, left arrow, if you right-click it you get a list of recent screens and you can select the right one.

Fred
Site Staff
Posts: 1127
Joined: 20 Sep 2016, 12:37

Re: Using Chrome

Post by Fred »

I use an older laptop, a Macbook, to access sites like this one, and when Safari seemed to be bogged down I switched to Chrome. The switch was quick and easy, and so far (fingers crossed) I haven't had any serious problems. Sometimes I'm unexpectedly asked to log in when I select this site, but otherwise it works quite OK.

googlism2008
Well Known Member
Posts: 131
Joined: 28 Sep 2016, 20:16

Re: Using Chrome

Post by googlism2008 »

The default browser I use is Firefox, and it works well.

Post Reply